Thoughts on teaching

20 Jan

We have been back at school for two weeks now, intermittently interrupted by snow, and I am really enjoying it. I feel very lucky to be able to go to work every day in the company of 21 wonderful children. It is such a joy to watch them succeed and grow over the year and I’m already starting to dread the end of the year when they leave.
This weekend, I watched (not for the first time) an excellent French documentary called Être et avoir (To be and to have) which follows the life of a teacher and his twelve children in a tiny village school. I was really struck by how similar classroom life can be, even within vastly different communities and cultures.
The teacher, George Lopez, sums up his life and work when he says,
“It takes time and personal involvement but the children give that back to you”
I agree with this wholeheartedly, it must be one of the most fulfilling professions there is (of course, not without it’s difficulties) and I feel very privileged to be part of it.

20130120-084558.jpg
The view from my work window this week.

X

Leave a Reply

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

onelittlelane

A blog about me and my love of crochet

sarahsstuff

My life and my crochet

fateamenable

Just another WordPress.com site

the apple bobber

visit the shop: theapplebobber.com

Two Photos a Day

Like a photo a day, but two of 'em...

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Tina's Travel Tales

pursuing the geography dream...

the girl with the bicycle

adventures in and around the city

A Circular Life

Celebrating Circles. Sparkles. Fashion. Inspiration. Soap Box Moments. SPARKLES!

Rosy Hill

The domestic happenings on Rosy Hill

Nicole's Cadeaux

Crafting my way into your heart.

Haken en meer

A bit of crafty talk

Silly Old Suitcase

A bit of crafty talk

mille makes...

knits etc.

dottie angel

A bit of crafty talk

