Chunky crocheted cowl

16 Nov

This week, despite an annoying virus, I have managed to finish something! It actually started life as something else however it was far too big for its original purpose so I turned it into an adult cowl half way through.
It’s a very simple, chunky cowl with a chunky flower attached, to prevent it looking like a neck brace 🙂
I crocheted it using a 10mm hook and very thick (and soft) cream wool (in Barley).
To begin with, I chained 44 and joined with a slip stitch.
The cowl is worked in a round, in half treble stitches (uk). Each new round starts by chaining 2, to make the first HTR. Then just continue around until you get the depth you want, mine is 10 rows of HTR stitches and one row of double crochet to tighten the top. Also, for the final two rows (10 & 11), I decreased two stitches which also made the top slightly tighter. Obviously, this is a matter of choice and you may prefer it looser.
I crocheted the flower using Lucy at attic24’s pattern and I used two strands together. One strand of the wool I used for the cowl itself and another of a very thin, blue alpaca wool which my sister gave me.
I hope you like it 🙂

20121116-155549.jpg

20121116-155558.jpg

20121116-155628.jpg

 

(By the way, the wool is actually a lovely creamy, oatmeal colour- the light was VERY poor when I took these pictures!)

Leave a comment

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

onelittlelane

A blog about me and my love of crochet

sarahsstuff

My life and my crochet

the apple bobber

visit the shop: theapplebobber.com

Two Photos a Day

Like a photo a day, but two of 'em...

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

the girl with the bicycle

adventures in and around the city

A Circular Life

Celebrating Circles. Sparkles. Fashion. Inspiration. Soap Box Moments. SPARKLES!

Rosy Hill

The domestic happenings on Rosy Hill

Haken en meer

A bit of crafty talk

Silly Old Suitcase

A bit of crafty talk

mille makes...

knits etc.

dottie angel

A bit of crafty talk

tales from cuckoo land

A bit of crafty talk

lovelydesign

A bit of crafty talk

Cup of Jo

A bit of crafty talk