Recent makes…

14 Aug

As I am new here, I thought it would be nice to share some of the most recent of my crafty endeavours (of the crochet variety).

These go way back to Christmas with my biggest project so far, a huge ripple blanket for my sister, made using Lucy’s pattern at Attic24. I used Stylecraft special DK yarn which is lovely and soft and comes in a wide variety of colours.

Image

With the news of a twin pregnancy of a lovely friend, I was again inspired to make blankets. More rippling! These were two smaller blankets but made with thicker pure wool (Patons Fairytale Dreamtime DK). I decided to make one with ripples and the other with stripes, but use the same colours. Alongside these baby blankets, came the sweet little pink pig for the twins’ older sister (pattern from this lovely book).

Image

Image

My current project is a large blanket just for us! It is a kind of patchwork-crochet blanket made using a pattern from Dottie Angel. The only other blanket I have made for us was much smaller and we need something that will actually cover a person! It will hopefully be finished very soon, the summer holiday gives much more opportunity for making 🙂

Image

I am making this blanket using Rowan Pure Wool Dk in five lovely colours (Port, Enamel, Dahlia, Tea Rose and Hyacinth). I plan to make a border for this blanket, something which I have not done before, using Snow.

Image

That’s all for now x

5 Responses to “Recent makes…”

  1. stitchedupmama August 14, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    Great that you’re making a blanket for yourselves – sometimes everything gets given away and there’s nothing in your home to show for it! Love the ripple effect in the other blankets too … =D

  2. buttontins August 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Thank you! I really like your diva brooches too. Very pretty.

  3. alltiedupwithstring August 18, 2012 at 12:21 am #

    I really like this pattern. I think I may do it!

  4. buttontins August 18, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    Yay,you should do it!

  5. Abigail August 21, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Okay, there is a picture of your ripple! All of your blankets are lovely and the pig is adorable! I particularly love the colours of the baby blankets. x

Leave a Reply

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

onelittlelane

A blog about me and my love of crochet

sarahsstuff

My life and my crochet

fateamenable

Just another WordPress.com site

the apple bobber

visit the shop: theapplebobber.com

Two Photos a Day

Like a photo a day, but two of 'em...

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Tina's Travel Tales

pursuing the geography dream...

the girl with the bicycle

adventures in and around the city

A Circular Life

Celebrating Circles. Sparkles. Fashion. Inspiration. Soap Box Moments. SPARKLES!

Rosy Hill

The domestic happenings on Rosy Hill

Nicole's Cadeaux

Crafting my way into your heart.

Haken en meer

A bit of crafty talk

Silly Old Suitcase

A bit of crafty talk

mille makes...

knits etc.

dottie angel

A bit of crafty talk

